乌干达顶级VPN、合法性、统计资料和建议

Michael Gargiulo - VPN.com首席执行官。

由: Michael Gargiulo,VPN.com的CEO

已更新。美国东部时间周三下午6点25分,2021年4月14日

介紹

乌干达是撒哈拉以南非洲地区最早的国家之一。 获得全面的互联网连接。 然而,非洲内陆国家乌干达长期以来互联网自由和接入有限。该国的互联网普及率很低,约有35%的国家有互联网连接。乌干达的互联网普及受到该国社交媒体税的限制。在实施该税之前,互联网普及率为47%。

该国拥有12 468个免费WiFi热点,其中大部分位于首都坎帕拉。公共WiFi网络很容易受到网络攻击和黑客的攻击。因此,坎帕拉和该国其他地方的许多居民都在积极寻找办法保护自己的上网信息。

政府的新政策,如社交媒体税,对使用特定网络平台的公民进行经济处罚。

如果你想规避财务成本,保护你的数据和访问地理封锁的内容,在乌干达使用VPN可能是明智之举。

在乌干达使用VPN是否合法?

虽然VPN在乌干达并不违法,但政府确实封锁了VPN流量。他们甚至曾经命令互联网服务供应商封杀使用VPN的客户。被抓到的后果很严重。一些立法者甚至推动严厉的法律后果。 包括坐牢。

为什么在乌干达使用VPN?

在可能造成如此严重后果的情况下,你还应该在乌干达使用VPN吗?简单来说,是的。

社交媒体税

2018年7月,乌干达政府规定,使用社交媒体需要纳税。从这一天起,政府规定使用Twitter、Facebook、Instagram和其他社交网站每天需要支付200乌干达先令(约合$0.05美元)的费用。该法律的具体理由值得商榷。许多人认为,政府希望阻止社交媒体的使用,以遏制 "流言蜚语"。为了逃避缴纳这项税收,许多市民开始使用VPN。

审查条例

政府不直接审查网站,但他们会跟踪用户活动。然后,官员们自己决定采取什么行动。虽然没有对政治和成人网站进行审查,但监视手段继续给公民带来问题。众所周知,政府经常会对发表政治观点的人进行打压。对于公开反对政府的人,政府会采取更极端的措施。

对2017年乌干达通信法案作出的一项修正,允许政府自由掌管互联网安全决策。逮捕是根据政府发现的信息进行的,包括分享军方暴力行为的人的信息。

乌干达不是 "9眼 "或 "14眼 "等更大情报机构的成员,所以该国不会主动与其他国家分享数据。一般来说,乌干达公民不需要那么担心政府会分享他们的信息。不过,他们应该关注政府的监控。

你应该在乌干达使用VPN吗?

自乌干达实施社交媒体税以来,使用VPN可以作为刑事犯罪追究。根据人权律师Nicholas Opiyo的说法,政府可以指控公民违反税法,这种处罚最高可罚7年。政府已经在社交媒体上公开宣布,公开反对使用VPN。约韦里-穆塞韦尼总统表示,征税是为了 创收.社交媒体税的目的是带领国家脱贫。这个计划是否可行,还有待观察。

此外,乌干达政府表示,他们有技术来阻止VPN服务,即使公司创造出更先进的方法来规避限制。到目前为止,这些法律已经导致了互联网使用量的下降。许多其他公民继续安装和使用VPN服务,并通过标签分享他们的不赞成,如 #istax必须去。

如果你选择使用VPN,某些功能可以让你在乌干达获得更好的互联网体验。一个高质量的付费VPN会对你的所有流量进行加密,从而保护你的数据。每次你上网时,你的真实IP地址都会被屏蔽。取而代之的是,它看起来像你从不同的国家登录到互联网。改变你的位置也可以让你规避社交媒体税,但要小心。特别是免费的VPN没有强大的安全措施,很容易被政府监控发现或追踪。在你安装VPN之前,请确保检查所提供的功能。

公共WiFi威胁

乌干达是一个贫穷的国家,公民平均每天的生活费不到$1美元。在这样的金融环境下,免费上网的诱惑是很诱人的。但这些地方不仅容易安装监控,也容易让黑客获取你的个人信息。在使用公共WiFi时,使用VPN会给你进一步的保护,防止黑客和网络犯罪分子的入侵。你很可能通过移动设备登录公共WiFi热点。如果你决定在乌干达使用VPN,请确保你也将它安装到你的手机、平板电脑和笔记本电脑上。

比较乌干达的最佳VPN

网速和VPN接入性

乌干达的平均网速较低,特别是与其他国家相比。该国目前的移动互联网速度在190个国家中排名第117位。平均下载速度为每秒14.91兆比特(Mbps)。上传速度平均约为6.24 Mbps。就固定宽带互联网而言,乌干达在190个国家中排名第137位。

什么样的网速才算好? 在或以上 25 Mbps的速度算是不错的了。由于乌干达各地的速度都很慢,在使用流媒体服务时,缓冲和延迟都会增加。

哪里可以找到VPN服务器

由于VPN的使用在乌干达受到严重的跟踪,供应商在乌干达境内没有服务器。你将不得不为你的IP地址选择另一个国家,但这增加了额外的保护。在政府如此严密的监控下,使用乌干达的IP地址仍然会让你容易受到政府的追踪。

VPN需要注意的功能

一个优质的VPN将具有强大的安全功能,以保护您在乌干达的互联网使用。强大的数据加密有助于保护你的信息不被政府发现。先进的安全协议,如多跳,通过将您的IP地址通过多个VPN服务器来提高您的匿名性。

如果你正在寻找一个VPN在乌干达使用,那么你也应该检查快速的互联网速度。连接速度已经很低了,你需要确保你的VPN不会进一步降低这个速度。检查是否有大型的服务器网络也是明智之举。服务器可能会变得过于拥挤,而且非洲还有不少国家对VPN有很强的审查条例和法律。有了多个服务器,你可以将你的IP地址路由到一个对VPN有更有利前景的国家。

收尾工作

乌干达互联网使用率低是经济和恐惧的结合。如果你担心自己的信息会在不知情的情况下被公开和分享,那么你应该使用VPN。在一个平均年收入为$600美元的国家,社交媒体税会带来严重的经济后果。使用VPN来对抗这种情况,但要注意政府可能会密切关注。

合作伙伴标志
应用优惠券

隐私性和价值的最佳整体

诺德VPN

拯救70%
低至$3.49/月

分享这个

二维码

了解乌干达的VPN服务和上网情况

zh_CN简体中文
DMCA.com保护状态
复制链接
由以下单位提供 社交网络

Uganda Top VPN, Legality, Stats, And Recommendations

Michael Gargiulo - CEO, VPN.com

By: Michael Gargiulo, CEO at VPN.com

Updated: 6:25 PM ET Wed, April 14th 2021

Introduction

Uganda was one of the first nations in Sub-Saharan Africa to gain full Internet connectivity. However, the landlocked African country of Uganda has a long history of limited Internet freedom and access. Internet penetration in the country is low, with around 35% of the country having Internet connectivity. The spread of Internet accses in Uganda is restricted by the country’s social media tax. Before it’s implementation, Internet penetration was at 47%.

The country boasts 12,468 free WiFi hotspots, with most located in the capital city of Kampala. Public WiFi networks are vulnerable to cyberattacks and hackers. As a result, many residents of Kampala and elsewhere in the country actively seek out ways to protect their information while online.

New government policies, such as the social media tax, penalize citizens financially for using specific online platforms.

If you wish to circumvent financial costs, protect your data and access geo-blocked content, it could be smart to use a VPN in Uganda.

Is It Legal To Use A VPN In Uganda?

While VPNs are not illegal in Uganda, the government does block VPN traffic. They have even previously ordered ISPs to block customers who use VPNs. The consequences of being caught are serious. Some lawmakers even push for harsh legal ramifications, including jail time.

Why Use a VPN in Uganda?

With the potential of such serious consequences, should you still use a VPN in Uganda? In brief, yes.

The Social Media Tax

In July of 2018, the government of Uganda made the use of social media taxable. Since this date, the government requires a daily fee of 200 Ugandan Shillings (around $0.05 USD) to use Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and other social networking sites. The exact reasoning for the law is debatable. Many believe the government wants to prevent social media use to curtail “gossip.” To escape paying this tax, many citizens began using a VPN.

Censorship Regulations

The government doesn’t directly censor websites, but they do track user activity. Officials then make their own decisions on what action to take. Though there is no censorship of political and adult websites, surveillance tactics continue to create problems for citizens. The government is often known to crack down on people who voice their political opinions. More extreme measures are in place for people who publicly oppose the government.

An amendment made to the 2017 Uganda Communications Bill allows the government the freedom to be in charge of Internet security decisions. Arrests are made with information the government finds, including that of people who share acts of violence by the military.

Uganda is not a member of a bigger intelligence agency such as 9 Eyes or 14 Eyes, so the country does not actively share data with other countries. Generally, Ugandan citizens don’t need to be as concerned about the government sharing their information. They should, however, be concerned with government surveillance.

Should You Use a VPN in Uganda?

Since the implementation of the social media tax in Uganda, the use of a VPN can be pursued as a criminal offense. According to human rights lawyer Nicholas Opiyo, the government can charge citizens with violating the tax act, a punishment that carries a fine of up to seven years. The government has made public announcements on social media, speaking out against using VPNs. President Yoweri Museveni stated that the tax is in place to create revenue. The purpose of the social media tax is to lead the country out of poverty. Whether this plan works is still to be seen.

Furthermore, the Ugandan government states they have the technology to block VPN services, even as companies create more advanced methods of circumventing restrictions. So far the laws have resulted in a drop in Internet usage. Many other citizens continue to install and use VPN services, sharing their disapproval with hashtags such as #thistaxmustgo.

If you choose to use a VPN, certain features can make for a better Internet experience in Uganda. A quality paid VPN encrypts all of your traffic, which protects your data. Every time you go online, your true IP address is masked. Instead, it appears as you are logging on to the Internet from a different country. Changing your location will also allow you to circumvent the social media tax, but be careful. Free VPNs in particular do not have strong security measures in place and can be easily detected or tracked by government surveillance. Before you install a VPN, make sure to check the features that are offered.

Public WiFi Threats

Uganda is an impoverished nation where the average citizen lives off of less than $1 USD a day. In this financial climate, the lure of free Internet is enticing. But these are easy places to not only install surveillance, but also for hackers to gain access to your personal information. The use of a VPN while on public WiFi will give you further protection against hackers and cybercriminals. You likely log onto public WiFi hotspots via a mobile device. If you decide to use a VPN in Uganda, make sure you also install it onto your phone, tablet, and laptop.

Compare The Best VPNs In Uganda

Internet Speed and VPN Accessibility

The average Internet speed in Uganda is low, especially when compared to other countries. The country currently ranks 117 out of 190 countries for mobile Internet speeds. The average download speed is 14.91 megabits per second (Mbps). The upload speed averages around 6.24 Mbps. For fixed broadband Internet, Uganda ranks 137 out of 190.

What is considered a good internet speed? At or above 25 Mbps qualifies as good. With slow speed throughout Uganda, there is an increase in buffering and latency while using streaming services.

Where to Find VPN Servers

As VPN use is heavily tracked in Uganda, providers do not have servers inside the country. You will have to select another country for your IP address, but this adds additional protection. With such intense government surveillance, the use of a Ugandan IP address still leaves you vulnerable to government tracking.

VPN Features to Look For

A quality VPN will have strong security features to protect your Internet use in Uganda. Strong data encryption helps shield your information from the government. Advanced security protocols such as multi-hopping increase your anonymity by passing your IP address through multiple VPN servers.

If you’re looking for a VPN to use in Uganda, then you should also check for fast Internet speeds. Connection speeds are already so low that you need to make sure your VPN doesn’t reduce this any further. It’s also smart to check for a large network of servers. Servers can become overcrowded, and there are quite a few other countries in Africa that have strong censorship regulations and laws regarding VPNs. With multiple servers, you can route your IP address to a country that has a more favorable outlook on VPNs.

Wrapping Up

The low use of the Internet in Uganda is a combination of economics and fear. If you have fears about your information becoming public and shared without your knowledge, then you should use a VPN. In a country where the average income is $600 USD per year, a social media tax can have serious financial consequences. Use a VPN to combat this, but be aware the government could be watching very closely.

Detailed Information About Ugandan VPNs in 2021

Ugandan Flag

Continent: Africa

Capital: Kampala

Primary Official Language: English

Population:

Domain Extension: .ug

Country Details

GDP:
$19,880,000,000

Local Google Domain: google.co.ug

Government Type:
Republic

# of Mobile Phones:
Unknown

# of Mobile Phones Rank
Unknown

Internet Penetration:
Unknown

Global % of Pop w/ Internet Rank :
19%

Internet Stats

# of Users:

Users Global Rank
7,502,024

Avg Speed:
-

Avg Peak Speed:
-

Above 4Mbps %:
-

Above 10Mbps %:
-

Above 15Mbps %:
-

Censorship Details

Political Sites:
No

Social Media Sites:
No

Adult Sites:
No

Pirate Bay:
No

14 Eyes Status:
No

Enemy of the Internet?
Unknown

Data & Security

Data Privacy Status:
Unknown

Data Protection Agency:
-

Data Retention Required?
Unknown

Data Retention Period
Unknown

Data Protection Officers Required?
Not Found

Breach Notifications Required?
Not Found

Financial Stats

Credit Card Payment %:
Unknown

Prepaid Card Payment %:
Unknown

Mobile Payment %
Unknown

Bank Transfer Payment %
Unknown

E-Wallet Payment %
Unknown

Travel Details

Address:
5911 16th Street NW, Washington DC 20011, United States of America

Email:
washington@mofa.go.ug / info@ugandaembassyus.org

Phone
(202) 726-7100

# of Global Embassy Consulates:
Unknown

Learn About Ugandan VPN Services and Internet Access

en_USEnglish
DMCA.com Protection Status