什么是拍卖师?如何成为现场拍卖的拍卖师

Michael Gargiulo - CEO, VPN.com

由: Michael Gargiulo,VPN.com的CEO

已更新。美国东部时间星期一下午5点47分,2021年5月24日

hands bidding to an auctioneer at a live auction

传统的销售往往不是销售商品的最佳方式。当某些东西具有相对主观或情感驱动的价值时,那么现场拍卖可能是最好的选择。拍卖师主导的活动的竞争性、活跃的气氛往往可以促进许多商品的成功销售。

什么是现场拍卖?

现场拍卖在美国文化景观中无处不在。小型拍卖会在各地很常见,但也有很多大型卖家。现场拍卖可能是一种方式,你帮助你的祖母出售她的一些旧物。另外,一个代理人可能会使用这种技术来出售优质房地产。

现场拍卖的显著标志是竞价是公开进行的。每一个新的出价都比前一个出价高,并由出价人宣布,同时拍卖师会邀请别人出更高的价。现场拍卖并不是唯一的类型,因为无声拍卖也相当受欢迎。在无声拍卖中,人们在一张纸上写下他们的出价,并可能在规定的时间内以缓慢、悠闲的速度出价。

然而,现场拍卖的景象和经历本身就是一种新奇的体验,它在电影和电视中频繁出现就是证明。几乎每个人都熟悉拍卖者竞相出价的场景,因为拍卖师急促的声音宣布的出价越来越高。

管理现场拍卖的法律

拍卖非常普遍,各州政府承认它们是一种合法的商业形式。此外,他们承认拍卖是一种合法的贸易,并规定了人们可以注册成为拍卖师的程序。这使卖家能够寻找合适的专业人员来领导他们自己的活动的竞标。

这些法律还在买方和卖方之间执行透明、诚实的行为。虽然卖家在整个过程中都有出售的权利,但他们只能在拍卖过程中修改条件,如果这些修改对拍卖者来说是明确的。

另一个重要的考虑因素是,一些州围绕高价值拍卖制定了特殊的条款。特别是,大多数州政府已经通过法律,要求珠宝拍卖在特定的白天时间内进行,以及其他类似的规定。这是因为假珠宝在人造光线下可能难以识别,而珠宝拍卖代表了卖家欺骗公众的机会。

然而,珠宝拍卖和其他合法商品的销售最终是合法的。目前的先例是,虽然州政府可以对拍卖进行监管,但其裁决不应构成 不合理的干扰.

现场拍卖的常见类型

现场拍卖是销售商品的一个多功能选择,它使你的听众能够以他们愿意支付的价格购买你想卖的东西。因此,现场拍卖适用于市场价格与人们愿意支付的价格不一致的不规则情况。这是双向的,因为人们经常会支付比相对客观的评估会说的东西的价值更多的钱。

慈善活动

慈善活动背后的利他主义动机与现场拍卖模式完全吻合。由于人们是来帮助筹款的,他们对花更多的钱会有更少的阻力。通过鼓励人们在一个慈善的环境中竞争,他们享受着出高价的冲动,同时知道这一切都是为了一个好的事业。慈善现场拍卖是每个参与其中的人最终都会喜欢的事情。

清理遗产或企业

如果一个亲人去世了,留下了满满一屋子的小玩意、旧物和其他物品,要找到如何处理这些物品可能会很困难。与其让它们在储藏室里呆着,不如通过现场拍卖来出售它们,这是相当普遍的。由于这些物品可能缺乏真正的市场价值,现场拍卖使离世者的家人能够依靠情感价值和个人魅力。

另一方面,一个倒闭的企业可能通过出售硬件和家具来减少损失。这些都是有一定价值的东西,但可能很难以传统方式出售。开始现场拍卖,并允许社区支付他们愿意支付的费用,这意味着卖家在他们可能没有收入的地方找到一些收入。

出售竞争性资产

如果说现场拍卖是快速出售价值有问题的物品的好选择,那么反过来也是如此。有很多东西,人们会支付超过该事物名义价值的价格,比如预计在未来会变得更有价值的财产。特定的财产,如具有历史意义的房屋或名人的房屋,也可能在拍卖中获得高价。

通常通过现场拍卖出售的货物

当现场拍卖是为了尽量减少损失,如清算破产企业,你可能会卖掉任何东西。另一方面,这些拍卖也可能是为了让卖家获得最大的利润。在物品具有收藏价值或情感价值的情况下,即使是雄心勃勃的预测,也往往低估了现场拍卖的收益。这方面的一个著名例子是一张收藏级的勒布朗-詹姆斯篮球卡,专家评估其价值为$1万。在竞争激烈的竞标结束后,它最终以令人难以置信的价格成交。 $1.8万.

收藏品

收藏品的价值来自于收藏者购买它们的意愿和投资者对它们的认知价值。鉴于可能的销售在多大程度上取决于感兴趣的个人的热情和财富阶层的奇思妙想,评估收藏品是困难的或不可能的。因此,现场拍卖完全适合销售高价值的收藏品。通过鼓励那些希望购买它的人之间的竞争,卖家比一对一的谈判更有优势。

精美的艺术

全球美术产业规模庞大,价值极高。到目前为止,它达到了 峰值超过$67亿 在2018年。虽然画廊销售是美术行业的一个重要组成部分,但拍卖行也发挥着重要作用。由于成本是由个别富有的收藏家愿意花费的东西所驱动的,美术品以类似于收藏品销售的方式从现场拍卖中获益。

虽然可识别的趋势和行业的销售量使评估者有了更好的基础,但拍卖仍然可以超过他们的预测。例如,历史上最畅销的艺术品。 萨尔瓦托尔-曼迪在2013年以$1.27亿的价格购买了该公司。此外,购买这幅画的俄罗斯亿万富翁认为他被多收了钱。这种想法在几年后的拍卖会上被证明是完全错误的,当时这幅画以惊人的价格赢得了拍卖。 $4.5亿.

纪念品

旧标志、玩具和任何一种具有怀旧价值的物品都适合现场拍卖。即使它们不具有收藏价值,这类物品仍然具有独特的情感和历史吸引力。由于它们的价值完全在看客的眼中,卖家有理由期待在拍卖会上有最好的运气。

域名

域名在现场和网上拍卖的频率可能会让很多人感到惊讶。A 好的域名 是经营成功的在线业务的关键,而简明、可品牌化的名称具有更大的价值。这既是因为它们的使用价值,也是因为它们的投资价值,因为许多人购买域名的权利,目的是为了以后转卖。由于域名的估价部分是主观的,就像艺术评估一样,它们通常是通过拍卖来出售。虽然域名拍卖通常在网上进行,但它们往往还是复制了现场拍卖的模式。

虽然这些并不是唯一在拍卖会上出现的商品,但它们代表了现场拍卖的多功能性。古老的纪念品、收藏品、知识产权和艺术品,其价值超过了大多数人一生的收入,在拍卖会上也同样适用。

如何成功举办现场拍卖会

在计划现场拍卖时,有几个步骤可以确保拍卖的成功。细节取决于拍卖的类型和你希望实现的目标,但成功拍卖的基本原则是相同的。

了解你的市场

无论你是进行慈善拍卖还是出售房地产,都有必要了解市场。了解正在出售的货物的价格和未来价值是有益的。通过这样做,卖家可以选择设定一个底价,最高出价必须通过底价才能成交。

了解市场也延伸到谁会参加拍卖会,以及你希望出售什么。比如说,对古董感兴趣的观众中,老年人会占更多。如果你卖的是古董,那么传统媒体在你的营销活动中肯定有一席之地。在这一点上,营销和宣传也是至关重要的。来参加拍卖会的人越多,拍卖会的成功几率就越大。

设定现实的目标

经营拍卖需要投入一定的时间和金钱。市场营销、获得场地、雇用拍卖师都有自己的费用。在投入这些费用之前,你应该对你希望从拍卖中获得的利润设定现实的预期。在慈善拍卖的情况下,公开的目标也可以帮助激励买家比其他方式花费更多。然而,这只有在目标本身是现实的,并且买家能够感觉到他们的支持是重要的。

合理分配时间

每件物品的拍卖可能需要几分钟,这取决于竞争情况、起拍价和物品的价值。一般来说,确保每件物品的拍卖至少有五到六分钟是一个好的经验法则。在有更多物品的长期拍卖中,值得用游戏、抽奖或其他娱乐性的插曲来打破竞价,让拍卖师和观众休息一下。每件物品分配的时间少于5分钟,会给拍卖带来太大的压力,使其进展更快,这可能会导致在最后耗尽时间或在某些物品上获得较低的回报。拍卖不仅仅是一种销售的方式,也是一个让各方都感到愉快的活动。

熟练的拍卖师

除了货物本身,拍卖师是现场拍卖中最重要的因素。他们保证了竞拍的顺利进行,对整个体验的质量起到了巨大的作用。从本质上讲,前面那个快嘴的、有权威的人是整个活动的代言人。你总是可以在营利性拍卖会上找到并雇用当地的拍卖师,但许多人将在慈善拍卖会上无偿工作。

什么是拍卖师?

拍卖师是在拍卖会上主导出价的人。虽然看起来说话快是一个关键技能,但实际上这个行业还有更多的东西。一个专业人员不仅能够快速清晰地说话,而且还能避免普通人可能会出现的怯场和尴尬的情况。此外,他们在拍卖界的经验使他们成为一个宝贵的团队成员,可以在拍卖前支持规划。

必要的技能

虽然任何人都可以成为拍卖师,但不是每个人都能成为一个伟大的拍卖师。它需要良好的沟通技巧和强大的存在感,以及在人群面前的自信和舒适。这些人际关系的软技能是可以学习的,但有经验和对它们的自然倾向是有帮助的。熟悉拍卖的幕后工作也很有价值。

所需教育

拍卖师的世界是一个多样化的世界,包含了普通教育证书、高中毕业生和大学毕业生的混合物。 虽然没有必须的中学后课程,但市场营销或商业方面的课程将提供有用的知识,让你开始工作。

平均收入

一般来说,拍卖师通过佣金赚钱,尽管他们也可能收取基本费用。一个有能力的拍卖师可以做得很好,因为这个领域享有一个很好的机会。 薪资中位数接近$70,000 在2020年。

如何成为一名拍卖师

如果你对如何成为一名拍卖师感兴趣,有几个步骤可以让你开始采取。由于该领域取决于个人技能和声誉,最好的开始方式是相当老套的。如果你能在拍卖公司找到任何工作,你就能观察到专业人员的工作,并享受学习过程的机会。

一旦你熟悉了拍卖的运作方式,你的下一步将是作为拍卖师练习并获得你的执照。你可以在获得执照之前就开始练习,这样做可能会受益。然而,这有一个警告,即一个有抱负的拍卖师如果没有执照,就不能在营利性拍卖会上工作。通过在慈善拍卖会上工作,你将能够建立一个声誉,获得经验,并衡量你对工作的舒适度。如果你做得很好,那么与当地或州的拍卖师执照颁发机构联系将是你的下一步。

然而,你不一定能立即成为一名正式的拍卖师。规则、条例和程序因州而异。在一些州,有必要先在拍卖行花两年时间做学徒。另一方面,许多州实际上根本就没有任何许可要求。

一旦你通过了当地的要求,祝贺你成为一名拍卖师。加入专业组织,发展关于某些类型拍卖的专题知识,以及其他类型的自我发展,将帮助你进一步发展你的职业生涯。有许多州和县的拍卖师组织,但也值得加入 全国拍卖师协会。

了解更多关于拍卖师和现场拍卖的信息

现场拍卖是一种令人兴奋、具有文化意义的做法,任何人都可以参加。如果你有兴趣了解更多关于商业、贸易和更多的主题,你应该关注VPN.com。如果你曾经在市场上购买域名,你也可以雇用我们的高级域名经纪服务,为你的网站找到完美的域名。

Partner Logo
应用优惠券

隐私性和价值的最佳整体

诺德VPN

拯救70%
低至$3.49/月

分享这个

QR Code
zh_CN简体中文
DMCA.com Protection Status
复制链接
由以下单位提供 社交网络

What Is An Auctioneer? How To Become An Auctioneer For Live Auctions

Michael Gargiulo - CEO, VPN.com

By: Michael Gargiulo, CEO at VPN.com

Updated: 5:47 PM ET Mon, May 24th 2021

hands bidding to an auctioneer at a live auction

Conventional sales often aren’t the best way to go about selling goods. When something has a relatively subjective or emotionally-driven value, then a live auction may be the best choice. The competitive, lively atmosphere of an auctioneer-driven event can often contribute to the successful sale of many goods.

What Is A Live Auction?

Live auctions are ubiquitous in the American cultural landscape. Small auctions are common across local areas, but there are many large sellers as well. A live auction might be a way that you help your grandmother sell some of her old possessions. Alternatively, an agent might use this technique to sell prime real estate.

The distinguishing mark of a live auction is that bidding occurs openly. Each new bid is higher than the previous one and announced by the bidder, while the auctioneer invites someone to place a higher bid. Live auctions aren’t the only type, as silent auctions are also fairly popular. In a silent auction, people write their bids on a sheet of paper and may bid at a slow, leisurely pace over a set amount of time.

However, the sight and experience of a live auction itself is a novel experience, as evidenced by its frequent appearance in movies and television. Virtually everyone is familiar with the scene of auction goers racing to outbid each other as the rapid-fire voice of the auctioneer declares higher and higher bids.

Laws Governing Live Auctions

Auctions are sufficiently common that state governments recognize them as a legitimate, legal form of commerce. Additionally, they recognize auctioneering as a legitimate trade and define processes by which people can register as an auctioneer. This enables a seller to seek out a suitable professional to lead the bidding at their own event.

These laws also enforce transparent, honest behavior among buyers and sellers. While the seller has the right to sell throughout the process, they can only modify conditions during an auction if these modifications are explicitly clear to auction goers.

Another important consideration is that some states create special terms surrounding high-value auctions. In particular, most state governments have passed laws that require jewelry auctions to take place during specific daylight hours and other such stipulations. This is because fake jewelry may be difficult to identify under artificial light, and a jewelry auction represents an opportunity for a seller to defraud the public.

However, jewelry auctions and other sales of legitimate goods are ultimately legal. The current precedent is that while state governments may regulate auctions, that their rulings should not constitute unreasonable interference.

Common Types Of Live Auctions

The live auction is a versatile choice for selling goods that enables your audience to buy what you want to sell at the price they’re willing to pay. As such, live auctions are suitable in irregular situations where the market prices don’t match what people will pay. This goes both ways, as people will oftentimes pay more than what a relatively objective evaluation would say that something is worth.

Charity Drives

The altruistic motives behind a charity drive dovetail perfectly with the live auction model. Since people are coming out to help raise money, they’ll experience less resistance to spending higher sums. By encouraging people to compete in a philanthropic setting, they enjoy the rush of placing higher bids while knowing that it’s all for a good cause. A charity live auction is something that everyone who takes part in generally ends up enjoying.

Liquidating An Estate Or Business

If a loved one dies and leaves a home full of knick-knacks, old possessions, and other items, it can be difficult to find what to do with them. Instead of leaving them to languish in a storage unit, it’s fairly common to sell them via live auction. Since the items may lack a real market value, a live auction enables the family of the departed to lean into emotional value and personal appeal.

On the other hand, a defunct business might reduce its losses by selling off hardware and furniture. These are all things that have some value, but may be hard to sell conventionally. Starting a live auction and allowing the community to pay what they’re willing means that the seller is finding some income where they may otherwise get none.

Selling Competitive Assets

If live auctions are a good choice for quickly selling items with a questionable value, the opposite is also true. There are many things that people will pay for in excess of the nominal value of that thing, such as property that’s projected to become more valuable in the future. Specific properties such as homes of historical significance or those of celebrities might also command a high price at an auction.

Goods Typically Sold Via Live Auction

When a live auction is a matter of minimizing losses such as liquidating a bankrupt business, you might sell anything. On the other hand, these auctions might also serve to maximize the profits that a seller can earn. In cases where an item has collectible or sentimental value, even ambitious projections often undersell what a live auction can earn. A famous example of this is a collectible LeBron James basketball card, which experts evaluated as worth $1 million. After the end of a competitive bid, it ultimately sold for an incredible $1.8 million.

Collectibles

Collectibles derive their value from the will of collectors to purchase them and their perceived value to investors. Given how much possible sales depend on essentially the whims of a passionate, wealthy class of interested individuals, it’s difficult or impossible to evaluate collectibles. As such, live auctions are perfectly suited to sales of high-value collectibles. By encouraging competition between those who wish to purchase it, the seller has a more advantageous position than in one-to-one negotiations.

Fine Art

The global fine art industry is vast and extremely valuable. To date, it reached a peak value above $67 billion in 2018. While gallery sales are an important component of the fine art industry, auction houses also play an important role. Since costs are driven by what individual, wealthy collectors are willing to spend, fine art benefits from live auctions in a similar manner to collectibles sales.

While identifiable trends and industry volume sales put evaluators on a better footing, auctions can still surpass their predictions. For instance, the top-selling piece of art in history, Salvatore Mundi, had been purchased for $127 million in 2013. Furthermore, the Russian billionaire who bought it was under the impression that he had been overcharged. This notion proved entirely wrong at an auction a few years later, when the painting caught the astonishing winning bid of $450 million.

Memorabilia

Old signs, toys, and any sort of item that holds nostalgic value is suitable for live auction sales. Even if they don’t have collectable value, such items still hold a unique emotional and historical appeal. Since their value is entirely in the eyes of the beholder, sellers can reasonably expect to have the best luck at an auction.

Domain Names

Domain names feature at live and online auctions with a frequency that might surprise many. A good domain name is key to running a successful online presence, and concise, brandable names have greater value. This is both because of their use value and investment value, as many people purchase the rights to a domain name with the intent of reselling later. Since the valuation of domain names is partially subjective, much like art evaluation, they’re often sold via auction. While domain name auctions typically take place online, they often replicate the live auction model nonetheless.

While these aren’t the only goods that feature at auctions, they represent how versatile live auctions are. Old keepsakes, collectible items, intellectual property, and art that’s worth more than what most people will make in their lifetime are equally at home in an auction.

How To Run A Successful Live Auction

When planning a live auction, there are several steps to ensuring it succeeds. The details vary depending on the type of auction and what you hope to achieve, but the basic tenets of a successful auction are the same.

Understand Your Market

Whether you’re running a charity auction or selling real estate, it’s necessary to understand the market. It is beneficial to understand both the going price and the future value for the goods being sold. By doing so, the seller will have the option of setting a reserve price which the highest bid must pass for a sale to occur.

Understanding the market also extends to who will be attending the auction, and what you hope to sell. Older people will make up more of the audience that’s interested in antiques, for instance. If you’re selling antiques, then legacy media definitely has a place in your marketing campaign. On that note, marketing and getting the word out is also vital. The more people that come to an auction, the better odds of success it will enjoy.

Set Realistic Goals

Running an auction requires a certain investment of time and money. Marketing, acquiring a venue, and hiring an auctioneer all come with their own expenses. Before committing to these expenses, you should set realistic expectations with the profit you hope to earn from the auction. In the case of charity auctions, publicized targets can also help motivate buyers to spend more than they might otherwise. However, this is only when the goals themselves are realistic and the buyers are able to feel like their support matters.

Allocate Time Properly

It can take several minutes to auction each item, depending on the competition, starting price, and value of the items. In general, it’s a good rule of thumb to make sure that an auction has at least five or six minutes per item. In longer auctions with more items, it’s worth breaking up the bidding with games, raffles, or other entertaining interludes that give the auctioneer and the audience a break. Allocating less than five minutes per item can put too much pressure on the auction to move faster, which can lead to running out of time toward the end or getting a lower return on some items. An auction isn’t just a way to make a sale, but also an event that should be enjoyable for all parties.

Skilled Auctioneer

Besides the goods themselves, the auctioneer is the most important element of the live auction. They keep the bidding running smoothly and play a tremendous role in the quality of the overall experience. In essence, the fast-talking, authoritative person up front is the face of the entire event. You can always find and hire a local auctioneer at a for-profit auction, but many will work pro bono on charity auctions.

What Is An Auctioneer?

An auctioneer is someone in the profession of leading bids at an auction. While it might seem like talking fast is a key skill, there’s actually much more that goes into this trade. A professional won’t only be able to speak quickly and clearly, but is also immune to the stage fright and awkwardness that might strike an average person. Furthermore, their experience in the world of auctions makes them an invaluable team member who can support planning in the lead-up to an auction.

Necessary Skills

While anyone can become an auctioneer, not everyone can be a great auctioneer. It requires good communication skills and a strong presence, as well as confidence and comfort in front of a crowd. These sort of interpersonal, soft skills can be learned, but it helps to have experience and a natural disposition towards them. Familiarity with the behind-the-scenes side of an auction is also valuable.

Required Education

The world of auctioneers is a diverse one that contains a mixture of GED’s, high school graduates, and college graduates. While there are no postsecondary courses that are necessary, a course in marketing or business will provide useful knowledge to get you started.

Average Income

Generally, auctioneers make money via commissions, although they might also charge a basic fee. A capable auctioneer can do quite well, as the field enjoyed a median salary close to $70,000 in 2020.

How To Become An Auctioneer

If you’re interested in how to become an auctioneer, there are several steps for you to begin taking. Since the field hinges on personal skill and reputation, the best way to start is rather old-fashioned. If you can get any job with an auction company, you’ll be able to observe a professional at work and enjoy opportunities to learn about the process.

Once you familiarize yourself with how auctions work, your next step will be to practice as an auctioneer and get your license. You can begin practicing before you gain your license and may benefit from doing so. However, this comes with the caveat that an aspiring auctioneer with no license can’t work at for-profit auctions. By working at charity auctions, you’ll be able to build a reputation, gain experience, and gauge your comfort with the work. If you do well, then getting in touch with the local or state authority on auctioneer licensing will be your next step.

However, you won’t necessarily be able to become a full-fledged auctioneer immediately. Rules, regulations, and procedures vary by state. In some states, it’s necessary to spend up to two years in an apprenticeship at an auction house first. On the other hand, many states do not actually have any licensing requirements at all.

Once you pass the local requirements, congratulate yourself on becoming an auctioneer. Joining professional organizations, developing subject-matter expertise on certain types of auctions, and other types of self development will help you further your career. There are many state and county-wide organizations for auctioneers, but it’s also worth joining the National Auctioneers Association.

Learn More About Auctioneers And Live Auctions

Live auctions are an exciting, culturally significant practice that anyone can take part in. If you’re interested in learning more about commerce, trade, and many more topics, you should follow VPN.com. If you’re ever in the market for domain names, you can also hire our premium domain brokerage services to find the perfect one for your website.

en_USEnglish
DMCA.com Protection Status