什么是VPN?

Michael Gargiulo - CEO, VPN.com

由: Michael Gargiulo,VPN.com的CEO

已更新。美国东部时间周二下午4:05, 2021年6月29日

Neon sign reading - VPN

任何使用互联网的人都应该清楚地了解什么是虚拟专用网络(VPN),以及他们如何从使用虚拟专用网络中受益。VPN有助于保护你的在线隐私,防止黑客窃取你的信息。通过掩盖你的原始IP地址,VPN对你的连接进行改道和加密,创造一个更安全的互联网体验。今天我们将仔细看看VPN的用途,以及为什么你在互联网上寻求额外保护时应考虑使用一个VPN。

VPN的定义和历史

用于VPN的技术是在1996年由一名微软雇员开发的。点对点隧道协议(PPTP)有助于建立更安全、更私密的互联网连接。今天,VPN还被用来隐藏IP地址,绕过流媒体和游戏内容的地理限制,并防止网络攻击。

VPN是如何工作的?

VPN是虚拟的,这意味着它们是基于软件的应用程序。要使用VPN,你需要首先在一个领先的VPN供应商处创建一个账户。你的账户将允许你从多个设备上验证你的VPN。一旦你登录,你的在线活动就会被加密,这有助于保护你的电子邮件和短信,以及你的信用卡信息和加密货币关键短语。

VPN是你的原始IP地址和你的在线目的地之间的一条隧道。你的IP地址被重新路由到另一个地方,让你提供更强的安全性,同时解锁其他额外的好处。

VPN的用途是什么?

解锁流媒体

许可证协议因国家而异,这意味着你居住的地方可以决定你可以获得哪些流媒体内容。虚拟专用网络允许你改变你的位置,这意味着你也可以改变你能够观看的流媒体内容。

防止节流

当他们的网络繁忙时,有时互联网服务提供商(ISP)会对其连接进行节流。节流是指加快或减慢互联网连接的行为。当使用了一定量的带宽时,互联网服务供应商也会对连接进行节流。因为你能够隐藏你的原始IP地址,所以VPN对保护你的连接不被节流很有用。

公共WiFi的保护

当你在没有VPN的情况下登录公共Wi-Fi网络时,你会将你的私人信息置于危险之中。通过公共无线网络拦截敏感数据是黑客们常用的一种技术。当你的设备试图连接到一个wi-fi热点时,黑客会将自己置于你和网络之间。通过这样做,他们可以接收到使用网络时发送的信息。在这种情况下,你的信用卡信息、社会安全号码和其他敏感信息可能被泄露。

网上购物

虽然使用VPN可以提供更高的安全性,但在网上购物时,它也可以提供潜在的节省。因为你可以使用虚拟专用网络(VPN)在不同国家之间交替使用,有可能利用季节性销售和其他折扣。例如,冬季的夹克衫,在一个正值夏季的地方可能会打折。定价的波动在网上进行,部分原因是供应和需求。然而,许多公司也使用一种被称为动态定价的过程。

动态定价是公司在网上使用的一种策略,原因很多,包括试图找出他们可以为商品或服务获得的最高价格。成本不仅可以因国家而异,也可以因邮政编码而异。当你用VPN改变你的位置时,你也可能获得更好的交易。

与审查制度作斗争

虽然世界上有许多地方重视言论自由,但也有一些地方的公民因对某些问题发表意见而不断面临审查和威胁。在这些国家,VPN的作用是什么?VPN软件用于帮助掩盖你的位置,使你能够访问和阅读在其本国可能被封锁的信息。社交媒体和流媒体的审查制度也可以用VPN来规避。

重要的是要注意,尽管VPN可以打开对审查材料的访问,但许多独裁国家已经封锁了这些网络,或完全禁止VPN。

游戏

虚拟专用网络也是游戏时使用的有用工具。游戏服务器很容易受到DDoS攻击,这可能被用来降低计算机与游戏服务器之间的连接速度。在游戏中,时间是极其重要的,任何滞后都会导致游戏者的损失。正在竞争的游戏者对潜在的威胁很谨慎,因此利用VPN来保护自己。

使用VPN是否合法?

在世界许多国家,使用VPN是合法的。然而,重要的是要考虑你在使用VPN时的行为,因为你的行为仍然可以被认为是非法的并受到法律的起诉。一些VPN还持有用户数据,供法律机构将来使用,这意味着可能会有你的在线行为记录。此外,还有一些国家组织的监视小组来监视在线行为。某些VPN供应商位于巴拿马,以避免这些组织。如果你担心政府的监控,那么你应该研究提供这些保护的服务。

如何选择VPN

当你选择一个VPN软件时,要考虑以下几点。

  • 定价。许多VPN提供免费试用以测试其服务。然而,免费的VPN,一般不提供足够的保护。曾有过免费VPN供应商向第三方出售用户信息的情况。为了确保你的在线安全,请使用价格合理的VPN供应商,其服务器位于世界各地。
  • 安全功能。考虑你是否需要杀毒开关等功能(在VPN连接被切断时立即切断你的网络连接)。此外,请确保检查你使用的VPN是否有以下特点
  • 连接多个设备的能力;据估计,每一个多人口家庭中有5个互联网设备在线连接。确保你使用的VPN软件能够连接到多个设备。大多数领先的VPN也有一个移动的VPN应用程序,允许你直接从手机或平板电脑控制你的连接。
  • 服务器的数量。VPN也会变得过于拥挤,这意味着你会遇到滞后时间和较慢的连接速度。为确保优化体验,尽量使用在世界各地有许多服务器的VPN。这样你就不必担心有一两个服务器变得太拥挤。

VPN有许多用途,我们公司可以帮助你获得更好和更安全的在线体验。我们的目标是帮助10亿人了解什么是VPN。到2025年,我们相信他们都将拥有一个安全的互联网连接。有关什么是VPN应用和其他现代VPN功能的更多信息,请访问 VPN.com.

zh_CN简体中文
DMCA.com Protection Status

What Is A VPN?

Michael Gargiulo - CEO, VPN.com

By: Michael Gargiulo, CEO at VPN.com

Updated: 4:05 PM ET Tue, June 29th 2021

Neon sign reading - VPN

Anyone who uses the internet should have a clear understanding of what a virtual private network (VPN) is and how they can benefit from using one. VPNs help to protect your privacy online, preventing hackers from stealing your information. By masking your original IP address, a VPN reroutes your and encrypts your connection, creating a more secure internet experience. Today we will take a closer look at what a VPN is used for and why you should consider using one whenever you seek additional protection on the internet.

VPN Definition & History

The technology used for VPNs was developed in 1996 by a Microsoft employee. The Peer to Peer Tunneling Protocol (PPTP) helped to create a more secure and private internet connection. Today, VPNs are also used to hide IP addresses, bypass geo-restrictions for streaming and gaming content, and prevent cyber attacks.

How Does A VPN Work?

VPNs are virtual, which means they are software-based applications. To use a VPN you need to first create an account with a leading VPN provider. Your account will allow you to authenticate your VPN from multiple devices. Once you’re logged in, your online activities are encrypted, which helps to protect your emails and texts, as well as your credit card information and cryptocurrency key phrases.

A VPN is a tunnel between your original IP address and your online destination. Your IP address is re-routed to another location, allowing you to provide enhanced security, while simultaneously unlocking other additional benefits.

What Is A VPN Used For?

Unlock Streaming

Licensing agreements vary from country to country, which means that where you live can determine which streaming content you have access to. Virtual Private Networks allow you to change your location, which means you can also change the streaming content you’re able to watch.

Prevent Throttling

When their networks are busy, sometimes internet service provides (ISPs) will throttle their connection. Throttling is the act of speeding up or slowing down an internet connection. ISPs also throttle connections when a certain amount of bandwidth has been used. Because you’re able to hide your original IP address, VPNs can be useful to protect your connection from throttling.

Protection On Public WiFi

When you sign into a public wi-fi network without a VPN, you’re putting your private information at risk. Intercepting sensitive data over public wireless networks is a common technique used by hackers. As your device tries to connect to a wi-fi hotspot, hackers position themselves between you and the network. By doing this they can receive access to information that is sent while using the network. Your credit card information, social security number, and other sensitive information can be compromised in these situations.

Shopping Online

While using a VPN can provide enhanced security, it also offers potential savings when shopping online. Because you can use a virtual private network (VPN) to alternate between countries, it’s possible to take advantage of seasonal sales and other discounts. Winter jackets, for instance, might be on sale in a place where it’s summer. Fluctuation in pricing is done online partly because of supply and demand. However many companies also use a process known as dynamic pricing.

Dynamic pricing is a strategy used by companies online for numerous reasons, including trying to find out the maximum price they can get for a good or service. Cost can vary not only by country but also by zip code. When you change your location with a VPN you may also have access to better deals.

Combat Censorship

Although there are many parts of the world where freedom of speech is valued, there are others where citizens constantly face censorship and threats for speaking out about certain issues. In these countries, what is a VPN used for? VPN software is used to help to mask your location, allowing you to access and read the information that might be blocked in their home country. Censorship in social media and streaming can also be circumvented with a VPN.

It’s important to mindful that although a VPN can open up access to censored material, many authoritarian countries have blocked these networks, or banned VPNs altogether.

Gaming

Virtual Private Networks are also helpful tools to use when gaming. Gaming servers are prone to DDoS attacks, which may be used to reduce the connection speed between a computer to a gaming server. In gaming, time is incredibly important and any lag can cause gamers to lose money. Gamers who are competing are cautious of potential threats and therefore utilize a VPN to keep themselves protected.

Is Using A VPN Legal?

In many countries around the world, the use of a VPN is legal. However, it’s important to consider what you do while using a VPN, as your actions can still be considered illegal and prosecuted by the law. Some VPNs also hold user data for future use by legal authorities, which means that there may be a record of your online behavior. Furthermore, there are surveillance groups organized by countries to monitor online behavior. Certain VPN providers are located in Panama to avoid these organizations. If you’re concerned about governmental surveillance, then you should look into services that offer these protections.

How To Choose A VPN

When you’re choosing a VPN software consider the following:

  • Pricing: Many VPNs offer free trials to test their services. However, free VPNs, generally don’t provide adequate protection. There have been instances of free VPN providers selling user information to third parties. To ensure your online safety, use an affordable VPN provider which has servers located around the world.
  • Security Features: Consider if you need features like a kill switch (which instantly cuts your internet connection with the VPN connection is dropped). Also, make sure to check if the VPN you use
  • Ability to Connect to Multiple Devices; It’s estimated that 5 internet devices connect online in every multiple household. Make sure that the VPN software you use can connect to multiple devices. Most leading VPNs also have a VPN app for mobile, which allows you to control your connection directly from your phone or tablet.
  • Number of Servers: VPNs can also get overcrowded, which means that you’ll experience lag time and slower connection speeds. To ensure an optimized experience, try to use a VPN that has numerous servers located around the world. This way you don’t have to worry if one or two servers become too crowded.

There are many uses for a VPN and our company can help you to have an improved and secure online experience. Our goal is to help 1 billion people understand what is a VPN. By 2025, we believe they will all have a secure internet connection. For more information about what’s a VPN app and other modern VPN features, visit VPN.com.

en_USEnglish
DMCA.com Protection Status