Comment mettre en place et utiliser un VPN à domicile

Michael Gargiulo - PDG, VPN.com

Par : Michael Gargiulo, PDG de VPN.com

Mise à jour : 8:04 ET mer, 20 janvier 2021

vpn family at home scaled

Introduction

Le foyer américain moyen a 9.1 dispositifs qui se connectent en ligne. Chaque fois que vous vous connectez au WiFi, vous mettez vos informations en danger. Votre adresse en ligne personnelle, formellement connue sous le nom de protocole Internet (IP), vous permet d'envoyer et de recevoir des données sur le web. Mais lorsque votre adresse IP est exposée, votre réseau devient vulnérable aux cyberattaques.

Certains fournisseurs d'accès à Internet (FAI) collectent également vos données et les lieux que vous visitez en ligne. Ils vendent ensuite ces informations aux annonceurs. Installez un VPN à votre domicile pour vous protéger chaque fois que vous vous connectez à l'internet.

L'Internet a été conçu pour faciliter le partage d'informations, et non pour protéger la vie privée des utilisateurs. Certains protocoles sont en place pour crypter vos données (comme le HTTPS), mais vous restez vulnérable aux attaques des serveurs de réseau et aux personnes qui veulent espionner votre fournisseur d'accès Internet. Pour sécuriser vos informations contre les menaces potentielles, il est important d'apprendre à mettre en place un VPN à domicile.

Pourquoi utiliser un VPN

Réacheminement de votre adresse IP

 

Une adresse IP est basée sur la localisationmais vous pouvez le cacher pour masquer votre emplacement physique. Une fois que vous savez comment configurer un VPN domestique et qu'il est activé sur vos appareils, vous pouvez envoyer votre adresse IP d'origine par un tunnel virtuel pour en changer l'emplacement. Votre adresse IP devient alors cachée et ni votre FAI ni un pirate informatique potentiel ne peuvent suivre vos déplacements en ligne.

Comment décider d'un VPN

S'inscrire pour un essai gratuit

 

Il existe des VPN domestiques qui sont totalement gratuits. Toutefois, si vous voulez vous assurer que vos informations sont correctement protégées et réduire les problèmes de connexion, alors vous devriez apprendre à mettre en place un VPN payant de qualité chez vous. Pour rester compétitif, de nombreux VPN offrent un essai gratuit ou une garantie de remboursement afin que vous puissiez tester leurs services. 

Recherchez la possibilité de vous connecter à des serveurs VPN dans le monde entier, ce qui permet d'éviter le surpeuplement. Mettez en place un essai gratuit pour voir quel VPN est le mieux adapté à vos besoins, et inscrivez-vous ensuite pour ajouter la protection VPN à votre réseau.

 

Choisissez votre service

 

Bien qu'il existe des centaines de VPN de qualité, vous pouvez apprendre à vous installer chez vous, il y a certains facteurs que vous devez prendre en compte lorsque décider lequel choisir. La possibilité de se connecter à plusieurs appareils est une chose que je recommande car vous pouvez sécuriser tous vos appareils en même temps. Les solutions VPN que nous avons étudiées pour l'usage domestique permettent souvent de se connecter à au moins cinq appareils à la fois.

 

Vérifier les conditions d'utilisation

 

Les fournisseurs d'accès Internet collectent vos informations et les vendent aux annonceurs. Certaines sociétés de VPN feront la même chose. Pour s'assurer que vos données sont protégées, vérifier si une politique de non-bloquage est en vigueur. Une politique de "no log" signifie que le VPN ne garde pas de trace de vos activités pendant que vous utilisez son serveur. Certaines entreprises prétendent ne conserver aucune de vos informations. Leur politique doit être clairement énoncée dans les conditions de service et si ce n'est pas le cas, vous pouvez faire appel à une autre société.

Comment mettre en place un VPN

Télécharger l'application VPN

 

Une fois que vous avez choisi un VPN et que vous vous êtes inscrit au service, vous devez télécharger l'application de l'entreprise, qui doit être hébergée sur son site web. Assurez-vous d'installer également l'application sur vos appareils mobiles. Après l'installation, entrez vos informations de connexion (le nom d'utilisateur et le mot de passe qui ont été créés lors de l'inscription).

 

Choisissez un serveur

 

Ensuite, vous devrez choisir un serveur. Normalement, le réseau VPN enverra votre adresse IP à un endroit qui est le plus proche de vous. Cela est généralement fait pour s'assurer que vous maintenez une connexion rapide. Un réseau VPN aura également d'autres serveurs dans différents pays. Vous pouvez choisir l'une de ces options pour ajouter une sécurité supplémentaire à votre adresse IP.

Certaines entreprises ont un une fonction de multi-hopping qui achemine votre adresse IP à travers une série de serveurs afin que votre localisation ne soit pas détectable. Les VPN vous permettent également de bloquer les contenus à caractère géographique. Par exemple, vous pouvez diffusez le BBC iPlayer ou un jeu de sport qui n'est pas disponible dans votre pays. Connectez-vous à un serveur dans un pays où ces programmes peuvent être diffusés en continu et vous les débloquerez.

 

Configurer les paramètres avancés

 

Bien que chaque service VPN a des caractéristiques uniquesSi vous avez besoin d'un accès à Internet, il existe quelques paramètres avancés qui peuvent vous aider à améliorer votre utilisation. Une caractéristique à rechercher est un interrupteur d'arrêtqui bloquera l'envoi ou la réception d'informations par votre ordinateur si votre VPN est déconnecté.

Il devrait également être possible de choisir un protocole VPN, mais cela peut être déroutant et ne pas être une chose que vous devez faire. Certains anciens protocoles sont faciles à compromettre, mais les nouveaux protocoles tels que OpenVPN et IKEv2 sont des pionniers en matière de technologie de sécurité. De nombreux VPN choisiront OpenVPN comme protocole par défaut en raison de sa sécurité, mais ce protocole n'est parfois pas disponible sur les appareils MacOS ou iPhone. Toutefois, à moins d'être incroyablement curieux, il n'y a aucune raison de modifier les paramètres du protocole par défaut.

Conclusion

Les VPN sont un moyen facile de assurer la sécurité en ligne de votre domicile et empêcher votre fournisseur d'accès Internet de suivre et de collecter vos données. Lorsque vous apprenez à mettre en place un VPN de qualité, vous prenez des mesures pour prévenir les cyberattaques à votre domicile.

Trouvez la solution à domicile qui vous convient aujourd'hui à l'adresse suivante VPN.comoù nous avons compilé des informations sur plus de 900 fournisseurs de RPV.

fr_FRFrançais
Statut de protection de DMCA.com
Copier le lien

How To Set Up And Use A VPN At Home

A family setting up a VPN at home on different devices

Introduction

The average U.S. home has 9.1 devices that connect online. Each time you log onto WiFi, you put your information at risk. Your personal online address, formally known as an Internet Protocol (IP), allows you to send and receive data on the web. But when your IP address is exposed, your network becomes vulnerable to cyberattacks.

Some Internet Service Providers (ISPs) also collect your data and the places you visit online. They then sell this information to advertisers. Set up a VPN at home to protect yourself every time that you log onto the Internet.

The Internet was designed to easily share information, not to protect user privacy. Certain protocols are in place to encrypt your data (such as HTTPS), but you are still vulnerable to network server attacks and people that want to spy on your ISP. To secure your information against potential threats, it’s important to learn how to set up a VPN at home.

Why You Should Use A VPN?

A VPN functions by transmitting your device’s web traffic with a private web server and hiding your IP address while doing so. This makes it look like your traffic is originating from the VPN web server, not your gadget, and allows you to bypass web restrictions as well as gain access to region-locked web content. 

The majority of VPNs utilize a procedure called OpenVPN, which is created to give a protected, encrypted passage for your traffic. This is generally combined with a form of file encryption, such as AES-256, to make sure that your traffic can not be obstructed as well as reviewed by any person.

Reroute Your IP Address

 

An IP address is location-based, but you can hide it to mask your physical location. Once you know how to set up a VPN at home and it is activated on your devices, you can send your original IP address through a virtual tunnel to change the location. Your IP address then becomes hidden and neither your ISP nor a potential hacker can track your movement online.

How To Decide On A VPN?

The text in the image says, how to decide on a VPN at home

When choosing a VPN, it is important to consider your needs. Some VPN at home are better for privacy, while others are better for unblocking content. Here are some things to consider when choosing a VPN:

Sign Up for a Free Trial

 

There are home VPNs available that are completely free. However, if you want to make sure your information is properly protected and also reduce connection issues, then you should learn how to set up a quality paid VPN at home. To stay competitive, many VPNs offer a free trial or money-back guarantee so that you can test out their services. 

Look for the ability to connect to VPN servers around the world, which helps prevent overcrowding. Set up a free trial to see which VPN is the right fit for your needs, and afterward sign up to add VPN protection to your network.

 

Choose Your Service

 

While there are hundreds of quality VPNs you can learn how to set up at home, there are some factors you want to look at when deciding on which one to choose. The ability to connect to multiple devices is something I recommend because you can secure all of your devices at one time. The VPN solutions that we’ve researched for home use often allow connections to at least five devices at a time.

 

Check The Terms of Use

 

ISP providers collect your information and sell it to advertisers. Some VPN companies will also do the same thing. To make sure that your data is protected, check for a no-logging policy. A no-log policy means that the VPN does not keep a record of your activities while using their server. Some companies claim not to keep any of your information. Their policies should clearly be stated in the terms of service and if they aren’t, you might want to use a different company.

How To Set Up A VPN At Home?

The text in the image says, how to set up a VPN at home and the background of the image shows a mobile phone displaying VPN connection

Setting up a VPN at home on your computer system or mobile phone is a relatively simple process. In many cases, all you need to do is select a VPN provider and sign up for their service. Once you have done so, you will be able to download and install and also mount the VPN software onto your device. 

Once the VPN software program is mounted, all you require to do is connect to a VPN web server. This can be done by selecting a web server from the VPN provider’s listing of servers, or by manually entering the IP address of a server. As soon as you are linked to a web server, your website traffic will be transmitted via the VPN, making certain that it is encrypted and also exclusive. Here are some steps to set up a VPN easily:

Download the VPN App

 

Once you’ve decided on a VPN for your home and you’ve signed up for the service, you’ll need to download the company’s app, which should be hosted on their website. Make sure you also install the app on your mobile devices. After installation, enter your login information (the username and password that was created during sign up).

 

Choose a Server

 

Next, you’ll need to choose a server. Normally the VPN network will send your IP address to a location that’s nearest to you. This is usually done to make sure you maintain a fast connection. A VPN network will also have other servers in different countries. You may want to select one of these options to add additional security to your IP address.

Some companies have a multi-hopping feature that routes your IP address through a series of servers so that your location isn’t detectable. VPN at home also allow you to block geo-restricted content. For instance, you may want to stream BBC iPlayer or a sports game that’s not available in your country. Connect to a server in a country where these programs can be streamed and you will unblock them.

 

Configure Advanced Settings

 

Though each VPN service has unique features, there are a few advanced settings that can help improve your usage. One feature to look for is a kill switch, which will block your computer from sending or receiving information if your VPN at home becomes disconnected.

There should also be the option to select a VPN protocol, but this can be confusing, and not something that you have to do. Some older protocols are easy to compromise, but new protocols such as OpenVPN and IKEv2 are pioneers in security technology. Many VPN at home will select OpenVPN as the default protocol because of how safe it is, but this protocol is sometimes not available on macOS or iPhone devices. However, unless you’re incredibly curious, there is no reason to change the default protocol settings.

Conclusion

VPN at home are an easy way to provide your home with online security and prevent your ISP from tracking and collecting your data. When you learn how to set up a quality VPN at home, you take steps to prevent cyberattacks in your home.

Find the right in-home solution for you today here at VPN.com, where we’ve compiled information on more than 900 VPN providers.

en_USEnglish