2021年9月10个最佳隐私和安全的VPN

  • 改变你的IP并对你的数据进行二次加密
  • 阻止恶意软件、广告和机器人
  • 经独立审计师确认的零日志政策
  • 与Tor网络兼容,实现完全匿名
  • 30天退款保证
  • 可在:
  • Microsoft Windows logo窗口
  • Apple Mac logo麦金塔
  • iOS logoiOS
  • Android logo安卓系统
  • Linux logoLinux

VPN服务

特点

评级

访问网站

1

诺德VPN

  • 改变你的IP并对你的数据进行二次加密
  • 阻止恶意软件、广告和机器人
  • 经独立审计师确认的零日志政策
  • 与Tor网络兼容,实现完全匿名
  • 30天退款保证
2

CyberGhost

  • 首家发布透明度报告的VPN公司
  • WireGuard加密技术结合了安全性和速度
  • NoSpy服务器保证100%的匿名性。
  • 一个账户可保护多达7台设备
  • 免费试用和45天的退款保证。
3

SurfShark

  • 阻止广告、恶意软件和网络钓鱼尝试
  • 使用MultiHop增加足迹遮蔽
  • 伪装模式可以隐藏VPN,不被你的ISP发现。
  • 用一个账户保护无限的设备
  • 30天退款保证
4

安全VPN

  • 自动WiFi安全让每个热点都安全
  • 银行级256位强加密
  • 匿名支付选项
  • 一个账户可保护多达5台设备
  • 30天退款保证
5

无限VPN

  • DNS防火墙可阻止恶意软件和恶意网站。
  • 个人VPN服务器
  • 零日志政策
  • 一个账户可保护多达10台设备
  • 30天退款保证
6

快捷VPN

  • 自动选择加密协议
  • 创新的TrustedServer技术
  • 没有用户日志,没有DNS屏蔽,没有第三方。
  • 一个账户可保护多达5台设备
  • 30天退款保证
7

TorGuard

  • 隐身VPN对您的互联网服务供应商隐藏了VPN。
  • 结合AES-256加密和SHA-512加密。
  • 多种协议选择
  • 一个账户可保护多达8台设备
  • 7天免费试用
8

私人互联网接入

  • 阻止广告、追踪器和恶意软件。
  • 包括SOCKS5代理
  • 没有流量或请求记录
  • 匿名支付选项
  • 一个账户可保护多达10台设备
9

IPVanish

  • 250 GB SugarSync 加密存储和备份。
  • 零日志政策
  • 多平台保护
  • 用一个账户保护无限的设备
  • 学生专属价格
10

Avast SecureLine

  • 开放源码的隐私保护
  • 与成千上万的用户共享一个IP地址
  • DNS泄漏保护
  • 一个账户可保护多达5台设备
  • 30天退款保证

互联网上的隐私曾经是一个既定事实。 然而,随着网络中立性的终结,损害大型企业数据和客户信息的复杂黑客的增加,第三方来源挖掘个人数据,以及许多国家审查制度的增加,许多网民正在寻求保护他们的浏览历史、位置和个人信息免受窥视的方法。

答案是什么?虚拟专用网络(VPN),一种在你和任何互联网网站之间建立安全、屏蔽的连接的服务。 一个好的VPN可以保护你在家里和在路上,确保你的隐私。 VPN是如何保护隐私的?我们将引导你完成整个过程,并给你选择正确的VPN隐私服务的提示。

为什么我应该安装一个VPN?

让我们摆脱旧有的思维,用户之所以会想要一个VPN,是因为他们在做一件事 网上非法.现在,VPN相当于在你的窗户上挂窗帘,而且几乎一样普遍。 只是因为你想要隐私并不意味着你做错了什么。

事实上,当连Equifax(信用报告公司)和万豪国际(酒店业者)这样的商业巨头都被 遭受黑客攻击和盗窃 的成千上万的信用卡号码和身份,有一个很好的理由来确保你的信息安全。除此之外,2017年,美国国会投票决定允许互联网服务提供商(ISP 出售您的上网数据.如果你注意到基于你最近访问过的网站的目标广告,或你进行的谷歌搜索,那是因为你的浏览习惯。 这些广告在你的电脑或手机上出现,是你的互联网历史记录被卖给第三方,包括广告商的直接结果。

使用VPN连接到网站而不是你的常规ISP的另一个原因是。 网络中立的终结.网络中立确保了所有的互联网网站都能平等、免费、没有人为的 "节流",降低了访问速度。现在,网络中立性已经被废除,互联网服务提供商可以选择哪些网站允许用户完全轻松访问,哪些网站难以加载或访问。互联网提供商还可以选择让某些网站需要订阅才能访问,也可以选择让大型网站免费,而对较小的竞争对手进行节流连接,或者让这些较小的竞争对手成为付费网站。你可以猜到谁从中受益。撤销网络中立性本质上是经济审查,但通过VPN服务器访问网站 绕过您的ISP设置的限制。.

VPN隐私还能保护你不受互联网审查的影响,并允许用户访问被政府封锁的网站。 更有趣的是,使用VPN来访问某些 流媒体 服务,让用户可以通过掩盖自己的位置来访问完整的节目、电影、音乐和视频目录。想看所有5季的 社区 如果你不是英国居民?获取一个VPN。

VPN还允许 比特伦P2P文件共享允许用户绕过互联网瓶颈问题,这些瓶颈问题源于托管流行媒体文件的服务器。 安全的VPN连接允许每个客户端计算机快速、方便地访问对方,使下载大文件的成本更低、速度更快。

VPN是如何工作的?

虚拟专用网络 加密 从你的计算机中,在把它发送到你选择的网站之前,这使得它在黑客看来是胡言乱语。 它还能掩盖你的位置,这意味着你可以选择 "来自 "世界上的任何地方。通过VPN访问一个网站,可以创建一个受保护的 "隧道",让你的数据通过。黑客或其他感兴趣的第三方可能能够看到你在互联网上,你访问的网站显示你在上面的活动,但在这之间,它被屏蔽了。网站只看到你通过的VPN服务器的信息。

How a VPN keeps your personal information secure.

VPN如何加密数据

加密 是VPN "隐藏 "数据的方法。 把加密想象成一个几乎无法破解的代码,将你的信息从一个地方扰乱到另一个地方。只有正确的解码密钥才能解开信息,从而允许你通过VPN访问网站。有了安全的私人 "隧道",两端都有解密密钥,可以解开数据,允许从你(客户)到网站主机的上传和下载。 这些解码器是 "钥匙",但VPN需要比这更多的东西来加密和解密你的数据。

在这里,我们得到一个小技术。VPN可以使用以下两种方式之一 协议 来包装和传输你的数据,通用路由封装(GRE),或互联网协议安全协议(IPSec)。IPSec是相当普遍的,它创建了安全隧道和数据包本身。 这两个子协议一起工作,安全地传输你的数据。

远程访问VPN使用与普通互联网连接相同的连接协议, 点对点协议(PPP)。对于VPN来说,有三种基于PPP连接的不同类型的协议。这些协议是 L2F(二层转发,它可以使用PPP连接支持的任何编程。 点对点隧道协议它支持任何类型的PPP连接以及40位和128位加密;以及 二层隧道协议, 它结合了前两者,能够完全支持IPSec的执行。

VPN如何掩盖你的IP地址

当你登录互联网时,你的IP地址对你来说是独一无二的--每台设备都有自己独立的IP地址,它们会向网站显示你的来源国,向你访问的网站显示你的IP地址,并显示你的互联网服务提供商。 如果你试图通过正常的互联网连接进入一个被你所在国家的用户封锁的网站,你会得到一个错误信息。

然而,VPN服务器也有IP地址,而且,根据供应商拥有的服务器数量,这些IP地址可能看起来来自100多个不同国家。

How advertisers follow your online activity

此外。 VPN服务器不限制一个IP地址可以拥有的用户数量。 不是一个用户和一个IP地址,而是成百上千的用户可以 "共享 "每个VPN服务器的IP地址。当你从VPN连接时,你 "借用 "你选择连接的服务器的IP地址和位置,这就是显示给你访问的网站(以及任何其他正在寻找的人)的内容。

从本质上讲,当你通过VPN连接时,你 "离开 "你的常规互联网服务提供商的服务器,而是使用VPN提供商的服务器。对从网站主机到黑客到你的政府,甚至是流媒体网站的任何人,验证你是从某个国家访问的。 你的IP地址将显示为与你选择的VPN服务器相关的地址。

如果你知道你想访问一个只在某些国家提供的网站或媒体服务,或者如果你想观看只有在某些国家才能看到的内容(网飞例如,与不同的国家有不同的许可协议,因此根据你所在的国家,有不同的目录)。) 然后,当你登录到你的VPN,选择一个基于你想成为的国家的服务器。

我在哪里可以得到一个VPN?

订阅VPN服务很简单. 它们可以在线使用--只需到公司网站上注册你想要的服务。然后,注册最适合你需要的计划,下载手册在你的设备上安装VPN,并按照那里的指示选择一个用户名、密码,并选择一个你想连接的服务器。当你连接到互联网时,你可以选择总是通过VPN连接(如果你在移动设备上安装VPN,建议你这样做--热点是出了名的容易被黑客攻击),或者直接通过你的互联网服务提供商(ISP)。

有些VPN是免费的,虽然免费很好,但其服务可能是有限的。许多免费的VPN限制了你可以添加到你的账户的设备数量,以及你每天或每月可以使用的带宽数量。 对于想要VPN用于流媒体的人来说,有限的带宽可能是一个问题。

付费订阅的VPN也可以在网上获得。 要么预先付款,要么留下一个 信用卡 的文件上进行定期订阅。你不需要单独的设备来使用常规的VPN,尽管有的路由器出售时预装了VPN。

为什么我应该选择一个付费订阅VPN服务?

有句老话说,你不可能不劳而获,这就是为什么许多用户选择了付费的VPN账户。有了付费VPN,特别是其中一个评价最高的,如 诺德VPNExpressVPN。 你会得到 顶尖的服务和保护,以及对数百个服务器的访问。此外,付费VPN服务靠用户赚钱--他们不必依靠其他收入来源来维持业务。 免费VPN服务仍有运营成本,它们需要以某种方式赚钱,通常是通过出售广告或出售数据。

较大的VPN公司有更多的资金来购买新的服务器,因为有些服务器会受到影响 记得那些流媒体服务与VPN服务器不断进行猫捉老鼠的游戏),以及一旦其VPN IP地址被暴露,就有资源让服务器重新上线。此外,收入更多的大型VPN公司也有能力雇用最好的程序员。 确保他们的服务比黑客和阻止VPN访问的网站领先一步。

我可以在移动设备上使用VPN吗?

是的。很多VPN服务都提供了一个适用于iOS或Android系统的应用,你就可以使用该应用通过VPN账户登录。对于经常使用 公共WiFi,特别是在旅行时。 在他们的移动设备上有一个处于 "始终在线 "状态的VPN,可以确保他们的数据始终受到保护。

请记住,在手机或平板电脑上运行VPN可能会更快地耗尽电池 - 您可能希望尝试不同的VPN服务(大多数付费订阅有一个免费试用期),看看哪些服务对您的电池寿命和性能影响最小。

How VPNs can be used for more than just apps

VPN会被破解吗?

嗯,是的。 VPN服务器和其他服务器一样容易受到黑客攻击。 事实上,该服务 热点屏蔽在协议中出现了一个bug。 几年前,允许用户的位置和WiFi网络名称被泄露。利用这些数据,可以很容易地确定谁在使用该服务。然而,Hotspot Shield并不是唯一一个被入侵的wavers。NordVPN、TorGuard和VikingVPN服务器都经历了。 2018年的违规行为,虽然没有数据被泄露。NordVPN在一份透明的公告中,确实表示他们的加密密钥被暴露,但破解256位加密所需的时间达到数百年。

除了第三方可以访问VPN服务器外,还包括 VPN服务本身也可能损害你的数据。 一些VPN尽管对你的浏览历史有 "无记录 "政策,但可能会记录其他东西。这些可能包括个人用户数据,如他们的电子邮件地址和用户名、个人移动ID和他们的真实IP地址(尽管这在每次注销后会被删除)。这些条款来自于付费VPN服务的隐私政策。而且,不是要再次挑剔Hotspot Shield VPN,但他们的免费服务也会跟踪用户的城市位置、MAC地址和无线运营商的数据。

同样重要的是要注意,虽然VPN的私人连接不会被破坏,但这并不意味着你所连接的网站不是钓鱼网站或欺诈性网站。 虽然VPN通常会保护用户免受攻击,即一个粗略的DNS协议会将你重定向到一个欺诈性或钓鱼网站,但VPN不会保护你免受一个精心构建的类似于真实的网站。寻找网址中HTTP后面的 "s",特别是当你输入个人或财务数据时,并在网上使用你的最佳判断。

此外,你可能会注意到,一些VPN服务将恶意软件保护列为其服务的一部分。许多这些服务确实有一个 "黑名单 "网站列表,这些网站以病毒和恶意软件著称,但VPN对这些类型的计算机错误的防护并不像著名的防病毒软件那样有效。 确保你的VPN和杀毒软件配合良好,否则你可能会遇到连接缓慢的情况。

常见的VPN隐私政策有哪些?

每个VPN提供商都有不同的 隐私政策。 因此,在你签署服务之前,阅读这些内容是很重要的。 事实上,如果你不满意,拿不回一个月的订购费可能是你最不担心的事情。如果你在注册服务时没有正确地阅读政策,你可能会发现你的个人数据已经找到了第三方,或者在一些国家,你的政府也找到了。

法律要求所有的VPN都必须说明其隐私政策。 包括他们收集哪些信息以及这些信息如何被使用。

也就是说,VPN隐私政策之间有几个共同点。

  • "无日志 "政策--这 意味着VPN不会记录你的浏览历史.虽然VPN供应商不保留日志,但当你通过VPN连接到一个网站时,该服务确实必须知道你要去哪里,以便连接你。然而,一旦你连接上了,VPN就不会保留你在哪里的记录。
  • VPN会有一个你何时登录和何时注销的时间戳。另外。 你用来连接到VPN的IP地址和你选择的VPN服务器的IP地址被储存起来。
  • 您上传和下载的数据量--通常以使用的字节为单位--会被记录下来。
  • 你用来注册订阅的用户名和电子邮件,以及支付信息通常会被保存在文件中。 一些VPN供应商说这是为了处理账单或在要求退款的情况下。 这里需要注意的是,许多VPN接受比特币而不是信用卡,有些甚至可能接受礼品卡支付)。
  • DNS(域名系统)泄漏保护。 一个好的VPN应该保护你通过互联网服务提供商的VPN访问的任何网站的DNS(域名和相应的唯一号码)。
  • 杀人开关规定。杀死开关(也叫 "网络锁")是指 如果你的VPN服务器被破坏或脱机,会自动断开你与互联网的连接。 一些VPN也有手动关闭开关,用户可以用它来一键断开连接。
  • 对于有每日或每月带宽上限的VPN供应商,你使用的带宽量可能会被记录下来,以确保你没有超标。 这在免费VPN服务中最常见,因为付费VPN通常有无限的带宽

今天就用VPN保护您的互联网隐私

没有VPN的互联网隐私是 往事如烟. 根据你的需要选择正确的VPN无论你只是在家里有一台台式机,还是在你的移动设备上也需要全覆盖访问。 意味着评估每项服务的优点和缺点.然而,在对VPN如何确保隐私有了扎实的了解后,你就能更好地准确评估你需要的哪种服务。在 VPN.com我们是来帮助您的。我们的专业知识和对客户隐私的保护意味着我们将在这里为您工作。

 

zh_CN简体中文
DMCA.com Protection Status

The 10 Best VPN For Privacy & Security (September 2020)

  • Encrypts your data twice
  • Blocks malware, ads, & bots
  • Zero-log policy confirmed by independent auditors
  • Compatible with Tor for complete privacy & anonymity
  • 30-day money-back guarantee
  • Available on:
  • Microsoft Windows logoWindows
  • Apple Mac logoMac
  • iOS logoiOS
  • Android logoAndroid
  • Linux logoLinux

VPN Service

Features

Rating

Visit Site

1
  • Encrypts your data twice
  • Blocks malware, ads, & bots
  • Zero-log policy confirmed by independent auditors
  • Compatible with Tor for complete privacy & anonymity
  • 30-day money-back guarantee
2
  • Blocks ads, malware, and phishing attempts
  • Increased footprint masking with MultiHop
  • Camouflage Mode hides the VPN from your ISP
  • Protect unlimited devices with one account
  • 30-day money-back guarantee
3
  • First VPN to publish a Transparency Report
  • WireGuard encryption combines security & speed
  • NoSpy servers guarantee 100% anonymity
  • Protect up to 7 devices with one account
  • Free trial and a 45-day money-back guarantee
4
  • Automatic WiFi security makes every hotspot safe
  • Bank-level 256-bit strong encryption
  • Anonymous payment options
  • Protect up to 5 devices with one account
  • 30-day money-back guarantee
5
  • DNS Firewall blocks malware and malicious sites
  • Personal VPN servers
  • Zero-log policy
  • Protect up to 10 devices with one account
  • 30-day money-back guarantee
6
  • Automatic encryption protocol selection
  • Innovative TrustedServer technology
  • No user logs, no DNS blocking, & no third parties
  • Protect up to 5 devices with one account
  • 30-day money-back guarantee
7
  • Stealth VPN hides the VPN from your ISP
  • Combines AES-256 encryption with SHA-512
  • Good variety of protocol options
  • Protect up to 8 devices with one account
  • 7-day free trial
8
  • Blocks ads, trackers, and malware
  • SOCKS5 Proxy included
  • No traffic or request logs
  • Anonymous payment options
  • Protect up to 10 devices with one account
9
  • 250 GB SugarSync encrypted storage & backup
  • Zero log policy
  • Multi-platform protection
  • Protect unlimited devices with one account
  • Exclusive pricing for students
10
  • Open-source privacy protection
  • Share a single IP address with thousands of users
  • DNS leak protection
  • Protect up to 5 devices with one account
  • 30-day money-back guarantee

Privacy on the internet used to be a given. However, with the end of Net Neutrality, the increase in sophisticated hackers who are compromising the data and customer information of larger corporations, third party sources mining personal data, and a rise in censorship in many countries, many net users are seeking ways to protect their browsing history, location, and personal information from prying eyes.

The answer? A Virtual Private Network (VPN), a service that creates a secure, shielded connection between you and any internet site. A good VPN can protect you at home and on the go, ensuring your privacy. How does a VPN protect privacy? We’ll walk you through the whole process and give you tips on selecting the right service for VPN privacy.

Why Should I Install A VPN?

Let’s get away from the old thinking that the only reason that users would want a VPN is that they’re doing something illegal or illicit on the internet. Now, a VPN the equivalent of hanging curtains in your windows, and almost as common. Just because you want privacy doesn’t mean that you’re doing anything wrong.

In fact, when even commercial giants like Equifax (credit reporting company) and Marriott International (hoteliers) are subject to hacking and theft of thousands of credit card numbers and identities, there’s a good reason to ensure that your information is secure. Beyond that, in 2017, the US Congress voted to allow Internet Service Providers (ISPs) to sell your internet browsing data. If you’ve noticed targeted ads based on sites you’ve recently visited, or Google searches you’re performed, it’s because of your browsing habits. These ads are populating on your computer or phone as a direct result of your internet history being sold to third parties, including advertisers.

Another reason to use a VPN to connect to a website instead of your regular ISP is the end of net neutrality. Net neutrality ensured that all internet sites were equally accessible, free, and without artificial “throttling” that slows down access. Now that Net Neutrality has been repealed, ISPs can select which sites to allow full ease of access and which sites are difficult to load or access for users. Internet providers may also choose to make certain sites accessible for a subscription or may opt to allow larger sites to be free, while either throttling the connectivity to smaller competitors or making these smaller competitors paid sites. You can guess who benefits from that. Revoking net neutrality is essentially economic censorship, but accessing websites through VPN servers bypasses restrictions that your ISP puts in place.

VPN privacy also protects you from internet censorship and allows users to access sites blocked by their government. On a more fun note, using a VPN to access certain streaming services allows subscribers to gain access to the full catalog of shows, movies, music, and videos, by masking their location. Want to see all 5 seasons of Community if you aren’t a UK resident? Get a VPN.

VPNs also allow BitTorrent, or P2P file sharing, allowing users to work around internet bottlenecks stemming from servers hosting popular media files. The secure VPN connection allows each client computer quick, easy access to the other, making it cheaper and faster to download larger files.

How Does A VPN Work?

A virtual private network encrypts data from your computer before sending it to the website you choose, which makes it look like gibberish to hackers. It also disguises your location, which means that you can choose to “be from” anywhere in the world. Accessing a website through a VPN creates a protected “tunnel” that your data travels through. Hackers or other interested third parties may be able to see that you’re on the internet, and the website you visit shows your activity on it, but in between that, it’s shielded. The website only sees the information form the VPN server that you’re routing through.

How a VPN keeps your personal information secure.

How A VPN Encrypts Data

Encryption is the method in which a VPN “hides” the data. Think of encryption as a virtually unbreakable code that scrambles your information from one place to another. Only the right decoding key can unscramble the information and thus allow you access to a website through the VPN. With a secure, private “tunnel,” there are decryption keys on both ends, unscrambling the data and allowing the uploads and downloads from you, the client, to the website host. These decoders are the “keys” but a VPN needs more than that to encrypt and decrypt your data.

Here’s where we’re getting a little technical. VPNs can use one of two protocols to package and transport your data, generic routing encapsulation (GRE), or internet protocol security protocol (IPSec). IPSec is fairly common and creates both the secure tunnel and the data package itself. These two sub-protocols work together to transfer your data securely.

Remote access VPNs use the same connection protocols that regular internet connections do, Point-to-point Protocol (PPP). For a VPN, there are three different types of protocols based on the PPP connectivity. These are L2F (Layer 2 Forwarding), which can use any programming supported by a PPP connection; PPTP (Point-to-point Tunneling Protocol), which supports any type of PPP connection plus 40- and 128-bit encryptions; and L2TP (Layer 2 Tunneling Protocol), which combines the first two and is capable of fully supporting IPSec execution.

How A VPN Disguises Your IP Address

Your IP address is unique to you when you sign into the internet – each device has its own discrete one, and they’ll indicate your country of origin to websites, display your IP address to the website you’re accessing, and indicate your internet service provider. If you’re trying to gain access to a site that’s blocked from users in your country through your regular internet connection, you’ll get an error message.

However, VPN servers also have IP addresses and, depending on how many servers the provider owns, these IP addresses can appear to originate from over 100 or more different countries. 

Moreover, VPN servers don’t restrict the number of users that an IP address can have. Instead of one user and one IP address, hundreds or thousands of users can “share” the IP address of each VPN server. When you connect from a VPN, you “borrow” the IP address and location of the server you select to connect from, and that’s what is displayed to the website you access (and anyone else who’s looking).

Essentially, when you connect through a VPN, you “leave” the server of your regular internet service provider and instead use the servers of the VPN provider. To anyone from a website host to a hacker to your government and even a streaming website validating that you’re accessing it from a certain country, your IP address will appear to be the one associated with the VPN server you chose.

If you know you want to access a website or media service that’s only available in certain countries, or if you want to watch content only available in certain countries (Netflix, for example, has different licensing agreements with different countries, and so has a different catalog depending on which country you’re in), then when you log into your VPN, select a server based in the country you want to be from.

Where Do I Get A VPN?

Subscribing to a VPN service is simple. They’re available online – simply go to the company website and sign up for the service you want. Then, sign up for the plan that suits your needs best, download the manual to install the VPN on your devices, and follow the instructions from there to select a username, password, and pick a server you want to connect through. When you connect to the internet, you have options to always connect through a VPN (recommended if you’re putting a VPN on your mobile devices – hotspots are notorious for being hackable) or just straight through your internet service provider (ISP).

Some VPNs are free, and, while free is great, their services may be limited. Many free VPNs limited the number of devices you can add to your account and the amount of bandwidth per day or per month you can use. For people who want a VPN for streaming media, limited bandwidth may be an issue.

Paid subscription VPNs are accessible online, too. Either pay upfront or leave a credit card on file for a recurring subscription. You won’t need a separate device for regular VPN use, although there are routers sold with VPNs pre-installed.

Why Should I Choose A Paid Subscription VPN Service?

There’s an old adage that you can’t get something for nothing, which is why many users opt for a paid VPN account. With a paid VPN, especially one of the most highly rated like NordVPN or ExpressVPN, you’ll get top-of-the-line service and protection, as well as access to hundreds of servers. Plus, paid VPN services make their money off subscribers – they don’t have to rely on other income streams to stay in business. Free VPN services still have operating costs, and they need to make money somehow, usually through selling ads or selling data.

Larger VPN companies have more money to purchase new servers as some become compromised (remember those streaming services have a constant game of cat-and-mouse with VPN servers) as well as the resources to get servers back online once their VPN IP address has been exposed. Plus, larger VPN companies with more revenue also have the wherewithal to hire the best programmers, ensuring that their services stay one step ahead of hackers and sites that block VPN access.

Can I Use A VPN On My Mobile Device?

Yes. Many VPN services offer an app that works on iOS or Android systems, and you’ll be able to sign in through your VPN account using that app. For people who often use public WiFi, especially while traveling, having a VPN in “always-on” status on their mobile device can ensure that their data is always protected.

Bear in mind that running your VPN on your phone or tablet may drain the battery faster – you may wish to try out different VPN services (most paid subscriptions have a free trial period) to see which ones affect your battery life and performance least.

How VPNs can be used for more than just apps

Can A VPN Be Compromised?

Well, yes. VPN servers are as vulnerable as others to hackers. In fact, the service Hotspot Shield had a bug in its protocols a few years back that allowed users’ locations and WiFi network names to be leaked. Using that data, it could be pretty easy to determine who was using the service. However, Hotspot Shield isn’t the only one wavers have been compromised. NordVPN, TorGuard, and VikingVPN servers all experienced breaches in 2018, although no data was compromised. NordVPN, in a transparent announcement, did indicate that their encryption keys were exposed, but the amount of time it would take to break 256-bit encryption reaches into the hundreds of years.

Beyond third parties having access to a VPN server, the VPN service itself may also compromise your data. Some VPNs, despite their “no log” policies for your browsing history, may log other things. These can include personal user data, such as their email address and username, personal mobile ID, and their real IP address (although this is deleted after logging off each session). These terms come from the privacy policy of a paid VPN service. And, not to pick on Hotspot Shield VPN again, but their free service also tracks data about the user’s city location, the MAC address, and the wireless carrier.

It’s also important to note that while the private connection of a VPN won’t be compromised, this doesn’t mean that the websites that you connect to aren’t phishing or fraudulent. While a VPN typically protects a user against attacks wherein a sketchy DNS protocol would redirect you to a fraudulent or phishing site, a VPN won’t protect you against a carefully constructed site that resembles the real thing. Look for the “s” after the HTTP in a web address, especially if you’re entering personal or financial data, and use your best judgment online.

Also, you may note that some VPN services list malware protection as part of their services. Many of these services do have a list of “blacklisted’ sites that are known for viruses and malware, but a VPN isn’t as effective against these types of computer bugs as a reputable anti-virus software. Make sure that your VPN and antivirus software work well together, otherwise you may experience a slow connection.

What Are Common VPN Privacy Policies?

Each VPN provider has different privacy policies, so it’s important to read these before you sign up for a service. In fact, if you aren’t satisfied, not getting back a month’s subscription fees can be the least of your worries. If you didn’t read the policies correctly when signing up for service, you may find that your personal data has found its way to third parties or, in some countries, your government, too.

All VPNs are required by law to state their privacy policies, including what information they collect and how that information is used.

That being said, there are a few common threads among VPN privacy policies:

  • “No Log” policy – this means that the VPN doesn’t log your browsing history. While VPN providers don’t keep logs, while you’re connected to a website through a VPN, the service does have to know where you’re going in order to connect you. Once you’re connected, however, a VPN won’t keep a record of where you are
  • The VPN will have a timestamp of when you log on and when you log off. Also, the IP address you use to connect to the VPN and the IP addresses of the VPN server you select is also stored
  • The amount of data you upload and download – usually measured in bytes used – is logged
  • Username and email that you used to enroll in the subscription, as well as payment information are often kept on file. Some VPN providers state this is in order to process billing or in cases of a refund request. (It’s important to note here that many VPNs take Bitcoin instead of credit cards and some may even take gift cards for payment)
  • DNS (Domain Name System) leak protection. A good VPN should protect the DNS (the domain name and corresponding unique number) of any website you visit through a VPN from your internet service provider
  • Killswitch provisions. A killswitch (also called a “network lock”) automatically disconnects you from the internet if your VPN server is compromised or goes offline. Some VPNs also have manual kill switches that a subscriber can use for a single-click disconnect
  • For VPN providers that have a cap on daily or monthly bandwidth, the amount of bandwidth you use may be logged in order to ensure that you aren’t going over. This is most common among free VPN services, as paid VPNs typically have unlimited bandwidth

Protect Your Internet Privacy With A VPN Today

Internet privacy without a VPN is a thing of the past. Choosing the right VPN for your needs, whether you simply have a desktop at home or you need full coverage access on your mobile devices, too, means evaluating the pros and cons of each service. With a solid understanding of how VPNs ensure privacy, however, you’re in a better position to accurately evaluate whichever service you need. At VPN.com, we’re here to help. Our expertise and dedication to the privacy of our clients mean that we’re here to work for you.

 

DMCA.com Protection Status